Contributor: JP Sing

After seeing Deftones perform live at Oppikoppi in 2013, I couldn’t wait to hear what their follow-up to Koi No Yokan was going to be like. Although, every Deftones album is different, they are able to have their identifiable sound in every album.

Last week Friday, I was lucky enough to get my hands on a copy of their new album, Gore. Off the bat, I can say that the best way to experience the album is either in the car or with any “good quality” headphones or earphones.

To put it simply, if you are a Deftones fan, this album will not disappoint. Some might disagree with me but even after a few listens, the album grows on you. And listening to a new album more than once, is not necessarily a bad thing. I would say listen to it a few times before you have an opinion about it but then again, music is subjective and whether you like something or not, is totally up to you.

My two favourite tracks on the album are ‘Geometric Headdress’ and ‘Hearts/Wires’. You will be able to listen to the album no matter what mood you might be in, unless that is just me. It could just be me. Either way, give it a listen and let me know what you think.

Deezer  / Apple Music – iTunes  / Simfy  / MiTracks  / Google Play

