Contributor: Larissa Fainberg

With his darkly vibrato, hypnotic blues croon, dark-washed by the gentle brush of contemplative melancholy and pained romance, Iggy Pop really does “break into your heart”. The timbre of his molasses-thick base vocals crawl under your skin. You feel as if under a mezmerising spell, and Iggy Pop is the seductive charmer, drawing you into the shadows of a world somewhere between the abyss of despair and the badlands of Tupelo or the Mohavi Desert.

As one who is acutely familiar with this sort of gruff, bluesy gothabily-esque musical persuasion (think Fields of Nephilim, Lou Reed, and Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, to name a few), I felt right at home with the darkly menacing romance of the album’s debut single, “Break into your Heart”, and the shamanic reverberations of “American Valhalla”. For the contemporary “Millenial” (ugh) listener, however, the subtle haunt of this musical offering might be somewhat disconcerting. Certainly, one who is unfamiliar with the legend that is Iggy Pop may be surprised to learn that he has been spear-heading the post-punk music movement for 40 years, if we start counting from his signing with RCA, under the production auspices of non other than David Bowie. Bowie helped write and produce The Idiot and Lust for Life, Iggy Pop’s two most acclaimed albums as a solo artist, the latter featuring one of Pop’s best-known songs “The Passenger”.  Post Pop Depression is the seventeenth studio album by Iggy Pop, released on March 18, 2016. Produced by Josh Homme of Queens of the Stone Age, the album was recorded in secrecy – as all magic and ritual is performed – and features contributions from Queens of the Stone Age’s Dean Fertita and Arctic Monkeys drummer Matt Helders

Download  or the album on iTunes or Apple Music, here. You can also stream tracks from Iggy Pop, Fields of Nefilim, The Sisters of Mercy and more on the Filtr SA #ImNotGoth Playlist.